Countdown to European Summer / travellin' feet

Paris: “Love is in the air(bnb)”: Round Two

So in case you’re wondering why I’m prattling on about Paris apartments again, it’s because I completely rescheduled my Paris trip with my family to the end of July, so I had to start looking for apartments all over again! Not that I mind, of course. I mean, if there were a job to just look ’round airbnb for people & drool over all the listings…I’ve found my life calling.

So essentially, here I am again, in desperate need for some advice (especially from any Parisian readers!) on which ones to look into booking.

I’ll be staying with my family in Paris for at least 5 days; two adults & two…children but not children (my sister is 11 but nearly as tall as 21-year old me) and we’re looking for a place with a great location/access to public transport, lots of cute cafes/shops around, and a nice living room & kitchen because we plan to cook up all the good things we take home from the Paris markets every day!

So onwards you go, take a look & give me some advice!

#1. Haussmanian Flat near City Center (between 3rd & 10th): $149/night

Pros: I love, love this style of building in Paris & would adore staying in one! And I fell in love with the flat design as soon as I saw it. Is it not so Parisian & artist-chic amazing?

Cons: So, um, the host mentioned that he might also be staying in the flat while we are there. (…?) Which would just be…no. Not happening. Would it be rude to message him & ask if he can not stay in the flat while we are there? After all, we are paying for it! And it’s located next to a very busy highway (see picture below) & reviews say it can be noisy.

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 6.40.31 PM

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 6.40.38 PM

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 6.40.12 PM

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 6.40.25 PM

#2. Chic flat near the Eiffel Tower, $221/night.

Pros: Hello, right at the base of the Eiffel Tower! How much better could it be?

Cons: Well honestly, could it be better? It’d probably be annoying to walk around near the Eiffel Tower all the time, with the swarms of tourists (and probably pick-pockets as well!) But out of all the flats, this one is the most “hotel-like” and most likely to garner potential parental approval. Too bad I’m in charge of this trip, though–I’m dragging them on my bohemian fantasy Parisian adventure whether they like it or not!

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 6.39.09 PM

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 6.39.19 PM

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 6.39.44 PM

#3. “Big & Luminous Flat in Bastille”, $161/night

Pros: So there’s this cafe called “Cafe Bastille” right at the bottom of the apartment building where we live. Would be kinda cool to say we went to the real Bastille, huh? The thing that sold me on this listing was the drop dead gorgeous kitchen. I mean, I hope we can use all the stuff; because look at those plates & utensils! Can anyone say Parisian dinner party?!

Cons: Don’t know much about Bastille beyond what I just mentioned; besides the fact that it has lots of noisy bars. And the apartment is kind of…too…white? I don’t know.

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 6.41.53 PM

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 6.42.12 PM

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 6.42.01 PM

#4. Marais: Place Marche St. Catherine, $117/night

Pros: It’s in amazing location and incredibly cheap for the area; usually Le Marais apartments are at least $200 USD a night for much worse places than this. Love the wooden beams; and they have a cat that lives with you!!!!!!!!!!

Cons: I don’t know if it’s the shoddy photography, but this place definitely looks the least aesthetically pleasing out of all the places I’ve picked so far. I mean…it still looks awesome. But should we look for something…more stunning & “Parisian”? 

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 6.43.02 PM

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 6.43.10 PM

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 6.43.27 PM

#5. “With Terrace in Montmartre”, $109/night

Pros: Oh gosh, this place makes me swoon! It’s simply the perfect flat. Large (60 square meters isn’t a palace, but it’s a lot bigger than most places I’ve looked at!) and the design, the kitchen, sigh! And that terrace. Oh my goodness. I don’t even know how to express my love for it. And since the couple is just starting out, their price is insanely low. I mean, $110 for a place for a family of 4 in Montmarte?

Cons: Okay, so I have to admit: this location is the exact same place I stayed at during my fateful trip to Paris 2 years ago. Not a ton of good memories, and it’s between two Metro stations: one is super shady, one is extremely touristy. Guess which one I always took by accident?! And in addition, I don’t know if my parents will be thrilled to sleep on an unmounted mattress on the floor, even if it is for $109 a night in Montmarte…

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 12.59.21 AM

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 12.59.31 AM

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 1.01.10 AM

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 1.01.04 AM

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 1.01.32 AM

#6. “En Famille a Montmarte!”, $149/night

Pros: Love that effin’ couch. And also, this apartment is sparsely furnished, but the basic structure is incredible. Look at all that light! Can you imagine, on a nice bright morning in Paris? Lovely.

Cons: Um…bunk bed accommodation for me & Gracie? That’d better be some damn good light coming through to convince Grace to crawl up there every night. (Not to mention…sleeping in another child’s bedding? Weird).

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 1.46.54 AM

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 1.46.20 AM

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 1.46.27 AM

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 1.46.45 AM

So what’s your verdict on numbers one through seven?

I’d love to hear any of opinions regarding location & housing conditions. Our top choice in terms of accommodation is Le Marais; with Montmartre trailing behind quite a bit, but still second. Our budget is preferably less than $250USD a night, but we don’t want a small, cramped apartment; and again, an awesome kitchen is preferable.

I’ll leave you with a picture of an amazing apartment I wanted to book, but sadly, we’re not in town for. How dreamy is that? They’re not renting it out for our intial dates in Paris, but I’m thinking that we may have to stay in Paris once more night after our return from Provence, and at $242/night & two cats in the bargain, trying to get this place is definitely worth a shot.

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 1.17.36 AM

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 1.17.17 AM

5 thoughts on “Paris: “Love is in the air(bnb)”: Round Two

  1. Hello Stephanie

    I am a french woman living in Paris
    I love travelling too and discovering other culture
    I discover your blog via an another taiwanese blog “Eva Everest”
    I like your very fresh and optimistic way to share your life in Taiwan

    Sorry for my broken english…
    for my experience of visiting a big city my advice, will be to take a map of the subway in Paris and try to find a place which allow you to come and go easily from your appartment
    Montmartre is a very lovely aera, (I understand you allready stay there) but it is quite far from other aera
    You are staying only 5 days, and with your family,
    if you are in the center of Paris and near a main subway line you can go back and rest after visiting some place, to refresh yourself and be able to go out again .

    Bastille might be a little noisy but is very convenient for buses and subway
    May you can ask if the bedroom are on the side of the place de la bastille
    And don’t forget …too white means may be…very clean…

    Place du Marché Ste Catherine is lovely too and the aera is really nice also but…. there are a few restaurant with terrace open late at night….
    July in Paris can be hot and there is not so many places with AC so you will need may be, to sleep with open windows…

    From my point of view, don’t accept to share any appartement you will rent with the owner !!!
    (I am so amazed by the price…)
    Well i am living here so I never look for accomodation..

    I hope this note will help you in your search
    Have a nice time in Paris !!!!

    • Eve! Thank you so much for your response & advice, it’s so helpful! I’ve narrowed it down to TWO listings (neither of them are listed, since I found them after, as most of the ones I listed turned out to be unavailable!)–and one is in Pere Lachaise; the other is in Pigalle-St. Georges (near Rue de Martyrs). I’m having the hardest time deciding!

      And yes I agree about Bastille; we were originally looking at a beautiful place in Bastille but then rejected after finding out it is on an street ENTIRELY full of bars!

      My mother was concerned about the heat as well….Do you think that living on the top floors (the Pere-Lachaise apartment is on the 5th floor) will be too hot, as heat rises?

      Again, thanks for stopping by! I’m probably going to one more post on Paris apartments, so hopefully you can give advice on the final decision 😉

      Stephanie

  2. Oh so do none of these apartments apply any more? I rather like the one in Montmartre, but no to sleeping on the floor in Paris….

    Please show us the new ones!

  3. definitely the one with the windows, it is important in Paris as it will get very hot and there is no air conditioning.

    you will most likely not favor to stay near the eiffel tower as it is touristy & many pickpockets are around.

    if you have any more questions about Paris, please reply & I will let you know.

So, any thoughts?

